Los Angeles Vintage Paperback Show – March 22, 2015

10999969_767009850061379_4204146330199728366_o

 

Join us at the 36th Annual Los Angeles Vintage Paperback Show. We’ll be signing and selling the latest books from Cycatrix Press, Jason V Brock, and William F. Nolan.

 

 

“Read, and prepare for beautiful nightmares.” – Alasdair Stuart, Pseud…

See original article:  

“Read, and prepare for beautiful nightmares.” – Alasdair Stuart, Pseud…

Weird Fiction: The Passing of the Generational Torch

FOR MATT CARDIN:

“[Dark Awakenings is] a thinking-man’s book of the macabre…Cardin’s tales are rich with references to Lovecraft, Nietzsche, and other writers whose work gives them unusual philosophic depth.” – Publishers Weekly

“Matt Cardin ranks among the foremost authors of contemporary American horror.” – Laird Barron

“It’s a bold writer who, in this day and age, tries to make modern horror fiction out of theology, but Cardin pulls it off.” – Darrell Schweitzer

“In the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft, Cardin’s accomplishments as a writer are paralleled by his expertise as a literary critic and theorist.” – Thomas Ligotti

“Matt Cardin is one of those rare horror authors who is also a true scholar and intellectual.” – Jack Haringa

FOR RICHARD GAVIN:

“Literate horror fans who have yet to encounter Canadian author Richard Gavin are in for a treat. The lyrical prose is often at a higher level than usual presentations of otherworldly demons and malevolent forces.” – Publishers Weekly

“Richard Gavin is one of the bright new stars in contemporary weird fiction. His richly textured style, deft character portrayal, and powerful horrific conceptions make every one of his tales a pleasure to read.” – S. T. Joshi

“Gavin’s storytelling can be masterly. As with Machen and Blackwood at their best, an epiphany or illumination is achieved, though Gavin’s mysticism is darker and distinctly his own.” – Wormwood

FOR STUART YOUNG:

“No one can accuse Stuart Young of avoiding the big issues — with insight and verve, he tackles head-on the existence of God, the mystery of human consciousness and the transformative effects of psychedelic drugs.” – Mark Chadbourne

“Wow, what an impressive story … [The Mask Behind the Face is] ambitious, in fact downright audacious.” – T.E.D. Klein

Continue reading

Horrific Readings for the Week of April 18th

Continue at source – 

Horrific Readings for the Week of April 18th

Tarpinian: 2014 Paperback Collectors’ Show

Source article:

Tarpinian: 2014 Paperback Collectors’ Show